The Lakeland Runners Club (LRC) is pleased to announce the 2022 board of directors who are eager to serve our community and fulfill our mission to promote running and fitness for runners of all ages and abilities.

Directors were elected at the 2021 Annual Member Meeting held on Dec. 4.  Lynn King was elected to the board for a two-year term, and directors Betsy Slay, Sarah Kozul, Angi Griffin, Michell Hoffert, Roxanne Youngs, John Lancaster, and Sharon Nance were re-elected for one-year terms, joining Shannon Abitbol, Chris Baker and Kim Baker. Read all director bios.

Officers for 2022 were elected at the annual board meeting held on Dec. 6. Michelle Hoffert was elected president, with Chris Baker as vice-president.  Sarah Kozul will serve as secretary and Brian Heipp as treasurer.

The LRC would like to recognize four departing directors: Chuck McDanal, James Hurst, Byrl Arnold, and Leonie Parker Zillner.  McDanal was elected to the board in 2014. He served as president in 2015, and vice president in 2017, 2019, and 2020, and he is an RRCA Level 1 Running Coach. Chuck was integral in the development of key policies, documentation, and strategic direction for the club. Hurst was elected to the board in 2018. James coached the LRC Lighting cross country team, directed the Aching Quad Challenge in 2019 and 2020, the Lake to Lake 10k in 2020, and the Summer Sunrise Watermelon 5k Series in 2021. Hurst is an RRCA Certified Race Director and a USATF certified course measurer. Arnold was elected to the board in 2019.  Byrl is an RRCA Certified Race Director and co-directed the Mayfaire 5k 2019-2021. Parker Zillner was elected to the board in 2021 and served on the member engagement committee.  We thank these directors for their leadership and extraordinary service to the LRC.

2022 Directors

(front row l-r) Sarah Kozul, Chris Baker, Michelle Hoffert, Brian Heipp

(back row l-r) John Lancaster, Shannon Abitbol, Lynn King, Angi Griffin, Betsy Slay, Roxanne Youngs, Kim Baker, Sharon Nance

Hoffert Elected as 2022 Board President