The Lakeland Runners Club (LRC) is pleased to announce the 2021 board of directors who are eager to serve our community and fulfill our mission to promote running and fitness for runners of all ages and abilities. We welcome four new directors: Shannon Abitbol, Chris Baker, Kim Baker, and Leonie Parker. They will join returning directors Byrl Arnold, Angi Griffin, Brian Heipp, Michelle Hoffert, James Hurst, Sarah Kozul, John Lancaster, Chuck McDanal, Sharon Nance, Betsy Slay, and Roxanne Youngs. Officers for 2021 are Sarah Kozul—president, Michelle Hoffert—vice-president, Angi Griffin—secretary, and Brian Heipp—Treasurer.

We would like to say a special thank you to three members of the board who are not returning in 2021: Louis Irwin, Luis Duran, and Dawn Hargrett. Louis has served as a director for 17 years. He was club president 2005-2007, and since 2006 has been the caretaker for the club’s equipment and race supplies. Louis volunteers at every race. He helps set up the start and finish line, pins on his bib to run the race, and then stays to help teardown and get everything properly back into storage. Luis Duran and Dawn Hargrett joined the board in 2020, and have volunteered at our club races. Dawn has also been a group leader for our Spring Ahead 5k training program and recently became a certified USATF coach. We applaud these members for their service to the LRC.

2020 required patience, determination, and creativity to fulfill our mission. Our annual report is a reflection of how we adapted our group runs, training programs, and races to the challenges of the coronavirus pandemic. Our board of directors, coaches, race directors, volunteers, participants, donors, and sponsors all rose to the occasion to keep our community engaged and active. I hope you’ll take the time to read it and be inspired. 

On behalf of the board of directors, we thank you for your support of the LRC.

Sarah Kozul

CLICK image to view the annual report

2020 Annual Report